number-one-9

cloud-storage-reviews-logo

Cloud Storage Companies Carbonite Review

Carbonite Review

https://www.cloudstoragereviews.co/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/300x225s/de/21/5e/4_carbonitelogo180_1297104844.jpg

Expert Rating: 8.2 User Rating: 4.0

Review by Steven Johnson
Written: April 01, 2012
Updated: July 30, 2013
 
Write Review

Editor review

They are a pretty good company but the options are not the best.
Overall rating 
 
8.2
Ease of Use 
 
9.0
Features 
 
7.0
Space / Price 
 
8.0
Customer Support 
 
8.0
Security 
 
9.0

Good Service with Limited Features

Reviewed by: Steven Johnson
Experience Level: Backup Professional
Customer for: three months to one year
Reviewed on: April 03, 2012

Pros and Cons

Pros
Well established company
More Expensive plans will ship you your data
Cons
Products and features are a little limited
Not all plans work with Macs

Full Review

They are a pretty good company but the options are not the best.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 
Learn More at Carbonite

User reviews

Average user rating from: 8 user(s)

Overall rating 
 
4.0
Ease of Use 
 
4.4  (8)
Features 
 
2.9  (8)
Space / Price 
 
5.6  (8)
Customer Support 
 
2.7  (8)
Security 
 
4.6  (8)
Ratings (the higher the better)
  • Ease of Use
    How easy was the software to configure and run your first backup?
  • Features
    How many helpful tools are available?
  • Space / Price
    How much space do you get for your money?
  • Customer Support
    How helpful and accessible is customer support?
  • Security
    How secure do you feel your data is?
Overview
Pros and Cons
Comments
I had a problem with my computer and it was not talking to Carbonite so I called the tech support and James not only fixed the issue remotely he also went through my system to help get rid of an annoying pop up that I could not get rid of. He also sat on the phone with me while I hooked up a new external hard drive and set up the mirror image so that I would have no issues if something happened to my computer. He also double checked all my videos to make sure they were being saved correctly. This phone call alone and how incredibly nice James was has made me a Carbonite customer for life!
Overall rating 
 
9.4
Ease of Use 
 
8.5
Features 
 
8.5
Space / Price 
 
10.0
Customer Support 
 
10.0
Security 
 
10.0

Amazing Customer Support

Overall Rating: 9.4 out of 10
Reviewed by: Sunshine
Reviewed on: June 21, 2013

Full Review

I had a problem with my computer and it was not talking to Carbonite so I called the tech support and James not only fixed the issue remotely he also went through my system to help get rid of an annoying pop up that I could not get rid of. He also sat on the phone with me while I hooked up a new external hard drive and set up the mirror image so that I would have no issues if something happened to my computer. He also double checked all my videos to make sure they were being saved correctly. This phone call alone and how incredibly nice James was has made me a Carbonite customer for life!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Just signed up, have been uploading for two weeks and still at 0%. Sent message to tech support two days ago. Still waiting.
Overall rating 
 
6.6
Ease of Use 
 
8.0
Features 
 
8.0
Space / Price 
 
8.0
Customer Support 
 
1.0
Security 
 
8.0

Upload slow and so is tech response

Overall Rating: 6.6 out of 10
Reviewed by: Leigh
Reviewed on: August 22, 2012

Full Review

Just signed up, have been uploading for two weeks and still at 0%. Sent message to tech support two days ago. Still waiting.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Do NOT use for more than about 5GB of backup unless you have a month or two to get your files back from them!!!!!
Overall rating 
 
5.8
Ease of Use 
 
6.0
Features 
 
1.0
Space / Price 
 
8.5
Customer Support 
 
6.5
Security 
 
7.0

Terrible service for large backups!

Overall Rating: 5.8 out of 10
Reviewed by: jbofga
Experience Level: Backup User
Customer for: more than 1 year
Reviewed on: August 02, 2013

Pros and Cons

Pros
It easy to get going with the software and also relatively easy to retrieve a single file or two.
Cons
Long waits for customer service and an almost USELESS restore feature. If your connection to their server is PERFECT, it can still only restore about 2.5GB per day (which never happens by the way). I have been restoring a folder of pictures (about 198 GB) for almost a month now, Still have over 30,000 files to go! Ridiculous, read the fine print this is NOT a good solution for backing up your entire machine.

Full Review

Do NOT use for more than about 5GB of backup unless you have a month or two to get your files back from them!!!!!

Was this review helpful to you? 
If you switch from a PC to a Mac, don't expect to be able to download your backup. It won't work. AND Carbonite won't give you any money back because you are having to switch services. Too bad for you. SO if there is a chance you may switch platforms in the future, go somewhere else for your backup needs.
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Ease of Use 
 
7.5
Features 
 
2.5
Space / Price 
 
6.0
Customer Support 
 
1.5
Security 
 
7.0

Poor Apple support

Overall Rating: 4.9 out of 10
Reviewed by: Fred Cludius
Experience Level: Backup User
Customer for: more than 1 year
Reviewed on: August 06, 2013

Pros and Cons

Pros
Easy to set up. Easy to see what has been backed up which gives you peace of mind
Cons
Doesn't fully support Apple Mac.

Full Review

If you switch from a PC to a Mac, don't expect to be able to download your backup. It won't work. AND Carbonite won't give you any money back because you are having to switch services. Too bad for you. SO if there is a chance you may switch platforms in the future, go somewhere else for your backup needs.

Was this review helpful to you? 
After having Carbonite on 3 computers for years I finally needed there service.... I lost all my priceless pictures. I did not panic though... I had Carbonite. It took TWO MONTHS and three 3 hour tech support calls to get my pictures back!!! The worst experience that I have ever had dealing with ANY company. Very deceptive practices. The restore of my pictures was painfully slow, so I called tech support... they said it was my internet connection speed. I called my internet provider and doubled my speed... That resulted in NO change in restore speed. I came to the end of my one year subscription (after 1.75 months of trying to restore my pictures) and even though I did not want to renew my subscription, I FORCED to in order to continue my restore and get my pictures back. I SWEAR, as soon as I hit the renew button and they charged me for another year the restore speed quadrupled!!!... The remainder (about a third of the total restore) finished in 1.5 days... ONE and a half days!!!!... all that they wanted was more of my money!!! Look at their refund policy... NO REFUNDS!!! Please do not give them your business!!!
Overall rating 
 
1.7
Ease of Use 
 
1.0
Features 
 
1.0
Space / Price 
 
3.0
Customer Support 
 
0.5
Security 
 
3.0

There Are MUCH Better Options!!!

Overall Rating: 1.7 out of 10
Reviewed by: KBryant
Reviewed on: July 01, 2013

Full Review

After having Carbonite on 3 computers for years I finally needed there service.... I lost all my priceless pictures. I did not panic though... I had Carbonite. It took TWO MONTHS and three 3 hour tech support calls to get my pictures back!!! The worst experience that I have ever had dealing with ANY company. Very deceptive practices. The restore of my pictures was painfully slow, so I called tech support... they said it was my internet connection speed. I called my internet provider and doubled my speed... That resulted in NO change in restore speed. I came to the end of my one year subscription (after 1.75 months of trying to restore my pictures) and even though I did not want to renew my subscription, I FORCED to in order to continue my restore and get my pictures back. I SWEAR, as soon as I hit the renew button and they charged me for another year the restore speed quadrupled!!!... The remainder (about a third of the total restore) finished in 1.5 days... ONE and a half days!!!!... all that they wanted was more of my money!!! Look at their refund policy... NO REFUNDS!!! Please do not give them your business!!!

Was this review helpful to you? 
The back ups looked fine until a restore was needed, then I learned that I had almost no data to recover. Never received any alerts. Customer service seems to be aware of this situation and just wastes your time.
Overall rating 
 
1.4
Ease of Use 
 
2.5
Features 
 
0.5
Space / Price 
 
3.0
Customer Support 
 
0.5
Security 
 
0.5

Your data is not worth losing, skip Carbonite

Overall Rating: 1.4 out of 10
Reviewed by: Miguel Mendoza
Reviewed on: June 27, 2013

Full Review

The back ups looked fine until a restore was needed, then I learned that I had almost no data to recover. Never received any alerts. Customer service seems to be aware of this situation and just wastes your time.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Right now I am on my 5th attempt to get real support from Carbonite-what a joke. Emails not returned, chat can't help, long hold on phone and I get rushed off the phone. Don't buy Carbonite!
Overall rating 
 
1.4
Ease of Use 
 
0.5
Features 
 
0.5
Space / Price 
 
5.0
Customer Support 
 
0.5
Security 
 
0.5

Horrible service

Overall Rating: 1.4 out of 10
Reviewed by: jon owens
Reviewed on: May 18, 2013

Full Review

Right now I am on my 5th attempt to get real support from Carbonite-what a joke. Emails not returned, chat can't help, long hold on phone and I get rushed off the phone. Don't buy Carbonite!

Was this review helpful to you? 
11 days to restore 300GB after a disk crash.

Disk Image from local USB drive takes more than 8 hours.

Phase I restore took 7+ days.

Phase II restore took another 4 days.

As near as I can tell, I only needed about 750 files from the online server that were newer than the files on the mirror image.

Carbonite seems to have processed the whole online data base and build some sort of structure on my hard drive in phase I.

Carbone then spent the next 4 days actually restoring those 750 into my local directory where they belong.

Tech support (level I and level II) were polite but essentially useless.

Their time estimates were off by a factor of 10.

I cannot imagine anyone continuing to use this company once they experience a restore event!

Overall rating 
 
1.0
Ease of Use 
 
1.0
Features 
 
1.0
Space / Price 
 
1.0
Customer Support 
 
1.0
Security 
 
1.0

Worse than a sharp stick in the eye

Overall Rating: 1.0 out of 10
Reviewed by: Paco
Reviewed on: July 08, 2013

Full Review

11 days to restore 300GB after a disk crash.

Disk Image from local USB drive takes more than 8 hours.

Phase I restore took 7+ days.

Phase II restore took another 4 days.

As near as I can tell, I only needed about 750 files from the online server that were newer than the files on the mirror image.

Carbonite seems to have processed the whole online data base and build some sort of structure on my hard drive in phase I.

Carbone then spent the next 4 days actually restoring those 750 into my local directory where they belong.

Tech support (level I and level II) were polite but essentially useless.

Their time estimates were off by a factor of 10.

I cannot imagine anyone continuing to use this company once they experience a restore event!

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

Company Overview

Lowest Price
$59/Year
Storage Space
Unlimited
Free Trial
Yes - 15 Day
Free Plan
No
Single Computer Plans
Yes
Multi Computer Plans
Yes
Business Plans
Yes
Year Established
2005

Supported Operating Systems

Windows
Yes
Mac OSX
Yes
Linux
No
Windows Server
Yes

Backup Features

Max File Size
4GB
Scheduler
No
Versioning / Snapshot
Yes
Browse Online Files
Yes
Incremental Backup
No
Bandwidth Throttle
Yes
Idle Backup
Yes
Resumes After Interruption
Yes
Email/Online Ticket Support
Yes
Phone Support
Yes
Live Chat
Yes
Blog
Yes
Knowledgebase
Yes
FAQs
Yes
Tutorials
Yes
Video Tutorials
Yes

Web/Mobile/Remote Access

Web Access
Yes
Mobile Phone Access
Yes
FTP Access
No
Can Set Permissions
Yes

File Restore Options

Backup Software Restore
Yes
Web Interface Restore
Yes
Zip File Restore
Yes
FTP File Restore
No
Physical Media Restore
No

Security

SSL Secure Transfer
Yes
Data Encryption
Yes
Geo-Redundant Storage
Yes
User Generated Encryption Key
Yes

Notable Features:

  • Unlimited Backup starting at $59/yr
  • Easy to Use Software
  • In business for 7 Years (Established 2005)
  • Free Mobile App
  • Redundant Data Centers

Company Highlights:

Carbonite is a widely known and trusted company with a lot of happy customers. Having won several awards over the years, they offer unlimited backup plans with common features and great tech support.

View All Carbonite Prices & Plans

Summary:

Carbonite is one of the most well known and advertised online backup service available. With online backup being the only service they offer, they have put great effort in making their service simple to use with unlimited space for home computer users and businesses.

Once a computer is securely backed up to Carbonite, files can be securely accessed from any computer with online access and from any smart phone with Carbonite's free mobile app. File restoration and recovery is simple with Carbonite's automated Restore Manager.

Carbonite Plans and Pricing:

  • Home and Home Office Plans
    • Home: $59/yr for 1 computer, Windows and Mac, unlimited backup
    • HomePlus: $99/yr for 1 computer, Windows only, unlimited backup with external hard drive backup
    • HomePremier: $149/yr for 1 computer, Windows only, unlimited backup with courier recovery service
  • Small Business Plans
    • Business: $229/yr includes 250GB backup storage space
    • BusinessPremier: $599/yr includes 500GB bakcup storage space with Microsoft Windows servers support
    • 50GB and 100 GB add on storage packs can be purchased for $46/yr to $89/yr

Company Profile:

Cartonite's corporate headquarters is located in Boston, MA and was founded by David Friend and Jeff Flowers. Both had personal experience with family members loosing important computer data which is why they launched Carbonite in 2005. Their goal was to provide a simple backup service that was also affordable.

Having earned several awards over the years, Carbonite has over 200 employees and has backed up nearly 200 billion files and recovered over 7 billion files. Carbonite operates 2 data centers in Boston and Somerville, MA and a customer support center in Lewiston, ME.

Photos

View All Carbonite Prices & Plans

Top Editor Rated

1.
9.4 / 10
 
2.
9.2 / 10
 
3.
9.1 / 10
 
4.
9.0 / 10
 
5.
8.8 / 10
 
6.
8.8 / 10
 
7.
8.6 / 10
 
8.
8.6 / 10
 
9.
8.4 / 10
 
10.
8.2 / 10
 

Top User Rated Companies

 
9.6 (1)
 
9.2 (2)
 
8.8 (4)
 
8.0 (2)
 
7.2 (2)
 
5.7 (2)
 
4.4 (2)
 
4.0 (8)
 
3.9 (2)

POPULAR PAGES

Best Cloud Storage Companies
Best Free Storage Plans
Best Single Computer Plans
Best Multi Computer Storage Plans
Best Unlimited Storage Plans

Best Business Storage Companies

Cloud Storage Features Explained
Unlimited Cloud Storage: Whats the catch?
How Cloud Storage Works
Cloud Storage Awards

ONLINE BACKUP CATEGORIES

All Free Cloud Storage Plans
All Single Computer Storage Plans
All Multiple Computer Storage Plans
All Unlimited Cloud Storage Plans
All Business Cloud Storage Companies
Cloud Storage Guides

TOP RATED COMPANIES

ZipCloud Review
Carbonite Review
Mozy Review
IDrive Review

MORE RESOURCES

    MY FRIENDS :-)

    Wordpress Hosting Reviews

    iPhone Speaker Reviews

    SOCIAL NETWORKS

    Follow Cloud Storage Reviews at Twitter Cloud Storage Reviews RSS Feed Cloud Storage Reviews on FacebookCloud Storage Reviews on Youtube Cloud Storage Reviews on Google+ Page

    Online Backup Search Footer Image

    About Cloud Storage Reviews

    CloudStorageReviews.co was created to help people find the best Cloud Storage. We spend hour researching and using different companies to see which of them is the best. Then we pass along the information to you.

    We understand that there is a lot that goes into finding a good cloud storage company that has all the right features for you. Hopefully the guides and expert advice that we provide helps customers and future cloud storage users find the best company and plan for them.

    Our mission: To provide the most valuable information about Cloud Storage Companies through experience and information.

    *OnlineBackupSearch.com is owned & operated by Steven Johnson of Intown Web Design, Inc.

    Did not find what you were looking for? Try Google, The Open Directory Project or