number-one-9

cloud-storage-reviews-logo

Cloud Storage Companies ZipCloud Review

ZipCloud Review

https://www.cloudstoragereviews.co/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/300x225s/08/92/72/63_zipcloudlogo-180-1324484837.jpg

Expert Rating: 9.2 User Rating: 9.2

Review by Steven Johnson
Written: April 01, 2012
Updated: July 29, 2013
 
Write Review

Editor review

*** Update August 2012 ***
The new version of ZipCloud has many new features. They have added a 'Drag & Drop' functionality to the online backup software. This makes it really easy to back up specific files and folders without having to navigate to them using the manual selection method.

The settings have been improved to include a much more effective scheduling tool. It has a calender for specific days, the ability to set a daily backup start time, and a 'pause between times' section.

Other improvements are that the website is cleaner and more responsive. It is much easier to navigate the files and share them.

***

Installation

Installing ZipCloud is easy on both Mac and PC. They have mastered the art of making it easy to get started. Once the software is installed, the backup process begins immediately.

File Backup

Once again, this part is very simple. All it takes is a little bit of knowledge about where your files are stored. There is a 2MB upload limit which is good for the first backup. Initial backups can take a while otherwise. This setting can be changed to unlimited in the settings area.

Restoring files

Getting your files back should they be lost, is crucial. We found ZipCloud handles this well. It's very easy, simply navigate to the files you want to restore and download them using the software on the computer or through their website. At this time you can access the site via mobile phone and download images and music.

Syncing files

The way ZipCloud handles file syncing is by providing a free 1GB sync folder with the online backup account. Using the Sync Folder gets files from one computer to another and also opens up the opportunity to share with others.

File sharing

To share files either use the Sync Folder for multiple computers or use the web interface to share with anyone. The recipient must sign up for a free account with ZipCloud to access files that are shared with them.

Support

Since the software was very easy to use and self explanatory we haven't needed tech support for anything. Check back in the future for updates.

Conclusion

ZipCloud has become a favorite of ours because they combine online backup and cloud storage within the same service. They have slight drawbacks like not having a large sync folder and some features cost extra, but these were very minor for us. Overall they did exactly what they said they would do. We felt we got more than we hoped for and it was very easy to use.
Overall rating 
 
9.2
Ease of Use 
 
10.0
Features 
 
8.0
Space / Price 
 
10.0
Customer Support 
 
9.0
Security 
 
9.0

Best Service for Unlimited Backup

Reviewed by: Steven Johnson
Experience Level: Backup Professional
Customer for: three months to one year
Reviewed on: September 04, 2012

Overview

ZipCloud does a great job at being very easy to use. They provide syncing capabilities combined with traditional online backup. The software is easy to use and backs up without issue.

We felt that they could have offered more sync folder space, but other than that they are great. Because of their eye for detail and ability to adapt online backup and syncing while making it accessible is what makes them a great company.

Pros and Cons

Pros
Unlimited backup storage
Cloud syncing folder
Multiple computer use
Very easy to use
Cons
Some features have upgrade charges

Full Review

*** Update August 2012 ***
The new version of ZipCloud has many new features. They have added a 'Drag & Drop' functionality to the online backup software. This makes it really easy to back up specific files and folders without having to navigate to them using the manual selection method.

The settings have been improved to include a much more effective scheduling tool. It has a calender for specific days, the ability to set a daily backup start time, and a 'pause between times' section.

Other improvements are that the website is cleaner and more responsive. It is much easier to navigate the files and share them.

***

Installation

Installing ZipCloud is easy on both Mac and PC. They have mastered the art of making it easy to get started. Once the software is installed, the backup process begins immediately.

File Backup

Once again, this part is very simple. All it takes is a little bit of knowledge about where your files are stored. There is a 2MB upload limit which is good for the first backup. Initial backups can take a while otherwise. This setting can be changed to unlimited in the settings area.

Restoring files

Getting your files back should they be lost, is crucial. We found ZipCloud handles this well. It's very easy, simply navigate to the files you want to restore and download them using the software on the computer or through their website. At this time you can access the site via mobile phone and download images and music.

Syncing files

The way ZipCloud handles file syncing is by providing a free 1GB sync folder with the online backup account. Using the Sync Folder gets files from one computer to another and also opens up the opportunity to share with others.

File sharing

To share files either use the Sync Folder for multiple computers or use the web interface to share with anyone. The recipient must sign up for a free account with ZipCloud to access files that are shared with them.

Support

Since the software was very easy to use and self explanatory we haven't needed tech support for anything. Check back in the future for updates.

Conclusion

ZipCloud has become a favorite of ours because they combine online backup and cloud storage within the same service. They have slight drawbacks like not having a large sync folder and some features cost extra, but these were very minor for us. Overall they did exactly what they said they would do. We felt we got more than we hoped for and it was very easy to use.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 
Learn More at ZipCloud

User reviews

Average user rating from: 2 user(s)

Overall rating 
 
9.2
Ease of Use 
 
10.0  (2)
Features 
 
8.5  (2)
Space / Price 
 
10.0  (2)
Customer Support 
 
8.5  (2)
Security 
 
9.0  (2)
Ratings (the higher the better)
  • Ease of Use
    How easy was the software to configure and run your first backup?
  • Features
    How many helpful tools are available?
  • Space / Price
    How much space do you get for your money?
  • Customer Support
    How helpful and accessible is customer support?
  • Security
    How secure do you feel your data is?
Overview
Pros and Cons
Comments
I have been very happy with my ZipCloud decision. I have lots of photographs and needed about 120GB of space.

It took a few days or so to back all of the data up, to be fair I have a lot of data and it just takes time to copy. In case you do not know ZipCloud uses Amazon Cloud Storage for their system. So you know the servers are fast and reliable. After some research most of the world uses Amazon Cloud services, Dropbox, instagram and thousands of others.

Anyway the service has been great. I have not needed customer support so I can not provide any real insight there but I know they are their to help so I gave them a 8 in good faith. Should I have a problem I will update the review.

Final word is I am glad I went with ZipCloud, I have been happy and more importantly I was glad to have my backup search over.

Hope this helps!
Overall rating 
 
9.2
Ease of Use 
 
10.0
Features 
 
9.0
Space / Price 
 
10.0
Customer Support 
 
8.0
Security 
 
9.0

Very Pleased with ZipCloud

Overall Rating: 9.2 out of 10
Reviewed by: Jason W
Experience Level: Backup User
Customer for: three months to one year
Reviewed on: July 31, 2012

Pros and Cons

Pros
Very Easy to set up
Easy to use
Just works
Cons
Many upgrade options, not sure if I need them all, I stuck with the basic account

Full Review

I have been very happy with my ZipCloud decision. I have lots of photographs and needed about 120GB of space.

It took a few days or so to back all of the data up, to be fair I have a lot of data and it just takes time to copy. In case you do not know ZipCloud uses Amazon Cloud Storage for their system. So you know the servers are fast and reliable. After some research most of the world uses Amazon Cloud services, Dropbox, instagram and thousands of others.

Anyway the service has been great. I have not needed customer support so I can not provide any real insight there but I know they are their to help so I gave them a 8 in good faith. Should I have a problem I will update the review.

Final word is I am glad I went with ZipCloud, I have been happy and more importantly I was glad to have my backup search over.

Hope this helps!

Was this review helpful to you? 
I Think ZipCloud is great because right after install it started backing up right away. The main reason i wanted to get online backup was in order to get my kids pictures backed up. I did it in just a few hours. ZipCloud made me feel like a pro. I looked into some of the scheduling options and realized it costs more to do hourly backups, so i decided not to get them.

I recommend them to all my friends. I feel like all my pictures are safe and i have been able to download them and share them easily.
Overall rating 
 
9.2
Ease of Use 
 
10.0
Features 
 
8.0
Space / Price 
 
10.0
Customer Support 
 
9.0
Security 
 
9.0

I was able to backup photos very quickly

Overall Rating: 9.2 out of 10
Reviewed by: Jessica
Experience Level: Backup User
Customer for: one to three months
Reviewed on: April 11, 2012

Overview

I was looking for a company that would let me backup my pictures from my computer really easily.

Pros and Cons

Pros
Worked right away
looks nice, easy to use
backup was easy
Cons
none at this point

Full Review

I Think ZipCloud is great because right after install it started backing up right away. The main reason i wanted to get online backup was in order to get my kids pictures backed up. I did it in just a few hours. ZipCloud made me feel like a pro. I looked into some of the scheduling options and realized it costs more to do hourly backups, so i decided not to get them.

I recommend them to all my friends. I feel like all my pictures are safe and i have been able to download them and share them easily.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

Company Overview

Lowest Price
$4.95/Month
Storage Space
Unlimited
Free Trial
Yes - 14 Day
Free Plan
No
Single Computer Plans
No
Multi Computer Plans
Yes
Business Plans
Yes
Year Established
2011

Supported Operating Systems

Windows
Yes
Mac OSX
Yes
Linux
No
Windows Server
No
iPhone / iPad
Yes
Android
Yes
Windows Mobile
Yes
Blackberry
Yes

Backup Features

Scheduler
Yes
Versioning / Snapshot
Yes
Browse Online Files
Yes
Incremental Backup
Yes
Bandwidth Throttle
Yes
Idle Backup
Yes
Resumes After Interruption
Yes
Email/Online Ticket Support
Yes
Phone Support
No
Live Chat
No
Blog
Yes
Knowledgebase
Yes
FAQs
Yes
Tutorials
Yes
Video Tutorials
No

Web/Mobile/Remote Access

Web Access
Yes
Mobile Phone Access
Yes
FTP Access
No
Can Set Permissions
Yes

File Restore Options

Backup Software Restore
Yes
Web Interface Restore
Yes
Zip File Restore
Yes
FTP File Restore
No
Physical Media Restore
Yes

Security

SSL Secure Transfer
Yes
Data Encryption
Yes
Geo-Redundant Storage
Yes
User Generated Encryption Key
Yes

Notable Features:

  • Excellent Prices
  • Unlimited Data Storage
  • File Sharing & Syncing
  • Mobile & Tablet Access
  • Excellent Customer Support

Company Highlights:

ZipCloud is one of the best companies providing Cloud Storage with Unlimited Data Plans, File Sharing and Syncing Features and Excellent Customer Support.

View All ZipCloud Prices & Plans

Summary:

Zip Cloud is one of our favorite cloud storage solutions.  They offer great prices, unlimited data storage and great tech support.  They are one of the newer companies in the market and they are bringing a new energy to the cloud storage space.

You can run zip cloud on Windows / Apple / iPhones / iPads / Windows Mobile and Blackberry.  ZipCloud provides all of the standard backup features including a scheduler, Incremental Backup, Versioning and Snapshot and idle computer backups.

They lack several of the advanced features the large enterprise or corporations would need such as multiple users. Zipcloud has been making big waves and is a great fit for Individuals, Families and small businesses.

test & test

Plans & Pricing:

  • Unlimited Storage - $4.95/Month All features included.

Company Profile:

ZipCloud was founded in 2011 by Just Develop.it and have over 150 people on staff.

another test & another test

Photos

View All ZipCloud Prices & Plans

Top Editor Rated

1.
9.4 / 10
 
2.
9.2 / 10
 
3.
9.1 / 10
 
4.
9.0 / 10
 
5.
8.8 / 10
 
6.
8.8 / 10
 
7.
8.6 / 10
 
8.
8.6 / 10
 
9.
8.4 / 10
 
10.
8.2 / 10
 

Top User Rated Companies

 
9.6 (1)
 
9.2 (2)
 
8.8 (4)
 
8.0 (2)
 
7.2 (2)
 
5.7 (2)
 
4.4 (2)
 
4.0 (8)
 
3.9 (2)

POPULAR PAGES

Best Cloud Storage Companies
Best Free Storage Plans
Best Single Computer Plans
Best Multi Computer Storage Plans
Best Unlimited Storage Plans

Best Business Storage Companies

Cloud Storage Features Explained
Unlimited Cloud Storage: Whats the catch?
How Cloud Storage Works
Cloud Storage Awards

ONLINE BACKUP CATEGORIES

All Free Cloud Storage Plans
All Single Computer Storage Plans
All Multiple Computer Storage Plans
All Unlimited Cloud Storage Plans
All Business Cloud Storage Companies
Cloud Storage Guides

TOP RATED COMPANIES

ZipCloud Review
Carbonite Review
Mozy Review
IDrive Review

MORE RESOURCES

    MY FRIENDS :-)

    Wordpress Hosting Reviews

    iPhone Speaker Reviews

    SOCIAL NETWORKS

    Follow Cloud Storage Reviews at Twitter Cloud Storage Reviews RSS Feed Cloud Storage Reviews on FacebookCloud Storage Reviews on Youtube Cloud Storage Reviews on Google+ Page

    Online Backup Search Footer Image

    About Cloud Storage Reviews

    CloudStorageReviews.co was created to help people find the best Cloud Storage. We spend hour researching and using different companies to see which of them is the best. Then we pass along the information to you.

    We understand that there is a lot that goes into finding a good cloud storage company that has all the right features for you. Hopefully the guides and expert advice that we provide helps customers and future cloud storage users find the best company and plan for them.

    Our mission: To provide the most valuable information about Cloud Storage Companies through experience and information.

    *OnlineBackupSearch.com is owned & operated by Steven Johnson of Intown Web Design, Inc.

    Did not find what you were looking for? Try Google, The Open Directory Project or